Wintersköl Royalty

Congratulations to our 2022 Wintersköl Royalty Honorees Beth Wille & Seth Sachson!

Beth Wille

Beth Wille has been a devoted Kindergarten teacher in Aspen for more than 30 years. Her passion for teaching extends far beyond the classroom, and last year raised $22,000 to update Aspen Elementary School’s cross-country ski gear to help foster the love of skiing, snow, and winter, in the kids of Aspen. Beth’s fundraising efforts went to the purchasing of over 150 new boots, skis, and bindings and allowed hundreds of community kids ranging from kindergarten through 4th grade to get on skis and out onto the great Nordic trails that surround our mountain town. It is said by many that Beth has a distinct superpower of building and maintaining relationships that extend into her love for the small children of aspen’s next generation as well as her community.

Lover of rivers and the outdoors; her family, biking, paddle boarding, rafting, baking bread, and of course teaching kindergarten, Beth has lived in Aspen for more than 50 years.

Seth Sachson

In the spring of 1992, fresh out of college with a degree in psychology with an emphasis on animal behavior, Seth Sachson packed up his car along with best friend Jackson, a two-year-old Australian shepherd mix, and headed to Aspen – intent on following a dream. Thirty years later, Director of the Aspen Animal Shelter and President of the Friends of the Aspen Animal Shelter, Seth attributes his successes to community and the “unconditional love and acceptance” of his neighbors.

Seth and his team’s efforts have helped more than 15,000 pets throughout the Aspen Animal Shelter that are neutered, vaccinated, and given the attention they need prior to adoption. Seth’s commitment to the canine community continues to provide a sanctuary to the multitude of homeless and rescued cats and dogs of Aspen, Pitkin County, and beyond.

Seth loves being part of the “pack” and when he’s not hanging out with the crew at the Aspen Animal Shelter, he enjoys spending time at his home in Old Snowmass with wife, Bryna, daughter, Henri Rose, and a menagerie of animals including eight dogs, six horses, and a bunch of chickens and ducks.


Past Wintersköl Royalty Honorees:

2021 - Dr. Kimberly Levin & Jimmy Yeager
2020 - Nina Gabianelli & Mark Patterson
2019 - Lissa Ballinger & Mike Monroney
2018 - Kathy & Warren Klug
2017 - Pat Callahan & Julie Lampton
2016 - Tom & Jody Cardamone
2015 - Duncan Clauss & Darcy Conover
2014 - Tom Anderson & Georgia Herrick Hanson
2013 - Travis McLain & Susan Cross
2012 - Ted & Christy Mahon 
2011 - Sam Ferguson & Marie Munday 
2010 - Kurt Bresnitz & Jackie Kasabach
2009 - Marian & Ralph Melville  
2008 - Eve Homeyer & Mead Metcalf 
2007 - Helen Klanderud & David Walbert
2006 - Tom & Carolyn Moore 
2005 - Leonard & Bamby Patterson 
2004 - Gretchen Bleiler & Steele Spence
2003 - Casey Puckett & Alberta Moore
2002 - Lenny Weinglass & Jayne Poss 
2001 (50th Anniversary) - Jack Depagter (Founder of Wintersköl) & Ellie Spence (1st Wintersköl Queen) 
2000 - Neil Bidelman & Gretl Uhl 
1999 - Amanda Boxtell & Chris Klug 
1998 - Klaus Obermeyer & Allison Scott
1997 - Miggs & Dick Durrance
1990 - George & Mary Gleason
1987 - Monica Lange
1986 - Susan Frailey
1985 - Carla Ramsing
1984 - Linda Zarek
1982 - Valerie Stevens
1981 - Annie Olson 
1971 - Gail Ramsey
1970 - Sue Smedstad crowned by King James MacArthur star of Hawaii 5-O
1968 - Erika Brunar
1966 - Skeeter Werner of Steamboat Springs
1964 - Bridget Bagley now Mrs. Robert Kerr
1963 - Marge Holohan
1961 - Merle Garner
1959 - Bente Larssen now Mrs. Eric Lawrence
1958 - Nancy Jankovsky of Denver’s Schussbaumer Ski Club
1957 - Nancy Armory of New York nominated by the Aspen Ski Club
1956 - Caroline Peet​
1955 - Mary Hansen from University of Wyoming
1954 - Kristin Vogt of Oslo Norway
1953 - Claire Hennig of Wasau Wisconsin Sponsored by Wasau Ski Club
1952 - Gwen Van Derbur
1951 - Ellie Whitten (Spence)

We use cookies on our website to support technical features that enhance your user experience.

We also use analytics & advertising services. To opt-out click for more information.